Uncategorized

WHO CAN CAST THE FIRST STONE

Yesterday, Ray Rice was indefinitely suspended by the NFL and the Baltimore Ravens terminated his contract, because of the physical abuse he inflicted upon his wife. Is the punishment too harsh? I’m surely not in any position to judge anyone for their transgressions. I surely can’t cast the first stone. However, I find it appalling that the league and his organization took further actions after he had already been punished.
Public backlash caused them to cave, not principle. The news is filled with anchors making no effort to hide their disgust, as well as reporting comments of Rice’s contemporaries. Granted, everyone is entitled to express themselves, but I wonder how many of the men opining negative views have put their hands on a woman?How many women endured abusive relationships or are in an abusive relationship while haranguing about Ray Rice? Hypocrisy is disgusting!
I’m not a defender of Ray Rice! I, myself have no understanding of men putting their hands on women. There’s not a woman anywhere that can say that CaNon put his hands on her in a manner in which she didn’t like. I value the women in my life and have female friends with daughters that I care a great deal for (Ivy being #1). It would be no problem for me to unremorsefully harm any man foolish enough to do to them what he did to his then fiancee. My sister, daughter, and nieces should never have to fear being in relationships with men that will settle their domestic differences as he would with another man. Such actions toward those that I love is punishable by . . .. I’m being rehabilitated so I shall not finish that thought. However, I think it’s absurd that people feel that Ray Rice should lose his job, be ostracized, and hated! It’s possible that it was a onetime incident and will never happen again, but how will we know if we continually cast stones and don’t even give the man a chance?

Standard

Leave a comment